Three years ago I started a journey.

It was, and still is, a journey that has led me to my life passion for helping moms who find themselves in a similar situation to mine.

Exclusive pumping was never my first choice, I had longed to breastfeed from the day we found out I was pregnant, but unfortunately that was not meant to be for us.
My daughter had difficulty latching due to a severe oral aversion so I was forced to feed her breastmilk via expressing and bottle feeding. I recently reached my goal of 3 years of exclusive pumping and plan to continue until my daughter self weans from her need / want for my milk.

In the beginning I had no one to show me how pumping worked, no one to show me how to even work a pump, no one to explain how often I should be pumping, what settings to use, how long to pump per session, I had no idea if what I was doing was even right. It was a very stressful and overwhelming time and a lot of the information I was given was discouraging, but some of my experience and information I have encountered along the way has proven to be invaluable.

It was through the initial lack of support and incorrect information during those early days that I decided I wanted to create a support system to inspire, encourage and help moms who are starting their own journey with EPing, or even just their journey back to work and having to pump for their babies while they are away.

I wanted to create a space to share information on pumping, increasing supply and all the other factors involved in this method of feeding.
I wanted to collect breast pump reviews by many real mothers so that a new mom shopping for a breast pump could be armed with all the information she needed to make a decision.
I wanted inspirational stories and experiences to help and encourage moms who are on this journey.
I wanted to support mothers, all mothers, regardless of their reason for having to pump, be it long term exclusive pumping, or pumping while returning to work.
I wanted them to know they are not alone and it is possible to give your baby the best, even when life has thrown you a curve ball.

I started this blog and subsequently my facebook group, with the sole purpose of getting the most correct and helpful information to moms during a very stressful and sometimes scary and overwhelming period, I have been so fortunate to be able to speak to so many courageous and amazing women who pump for severely premature infants, tube fed babies, sick babies as well as some truly inspirational women who surrogate and pump in order to give that new baby a fantastic start in life, as well as the selfless and kind mothers who pump solely for the purpose to donate to organizations who keep premature and sick babies alive through the miracle of breastmilk.

We all need support, and without the support and encouragement from friends, EPing groups and an amazingly special Le Leche League Leader (Naomi Mitchell) who taught me so much, I would never have made it as far as I have.

So thank you.

Thank you to the moms who inspire me daily, who keep me going and make my passion burn bright.

I hope that the information and stories shared on this blog inspire, help and inform you.

Pump Strong Ladies

20140204-000920.jpg

